Sunday, 22 July 2012


Rhinos are hoofed animals with a two horns, one near its ears which is smaller than the horn on its nose. The word rhino means “nose horn”. There are only five species of rhinos living, the black rhino, white rhino, Indian rhino, Sumatran rhino and the Javan rhino. All five species of rhino can grow to weigh over 1 ton (1000kg). The white rhino can weigh over 3500kg. The white rhino is the second largest land animal after the elephant. Rhino horns are made of keratin the same thing your fingernails and hair are made of. All rhinos are herbivores (plant eaters) and often hunted for their horns. There are 2400 black rhinos on earth, 7500 white rhinos, 400 Sumatran rhinos, fewer than 100 Javan rhinos and more than 2000 Indian rhinos.

1 comment:

  1. Thanks for this. I found it very helpful including the picture for my genetically modified animal for art at school.